Padma Awards 2020: Everything You Need To Know

Padma Awards 2020: Everything You Need To Know

Padma Awards is one of the highest civilian awards in the nation. People who have done extraordinary work in their field are facilitated with this award. What adds more grace to the award is that the recipient will get it from President himself in Rastrapathi Bhavan. The names of winners are usually announced in the eye of Republic day. Padma Vibhushan is the second-highest award for a civilian after Bharath Ratna. It is awarded to those who have done an exceptional and distinguished service. Meanwhile, Padma Bhushan is given to those who have done distinguished service of a high order. Padma Shri is awarded to those who have done distinguished service in any field.

Follow Saltsnap for more updates

The Winners of Padma Awards

Due to Covid 19 Pandemic, the award ceremony could not be held in 2020. The government of India announced on Sunday that the award ceremony will be held on the 8th and 9th of November. It was held in 4 different ceremonies to facilitate the winners. The ceremony includes the recipients of 7 Padma Vibhushan winners. Also, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri award winners. Meanwhile, Sixteen awards have been conferred posthumously. Late Shri S. P. Balasubrahmanyam was also awarded Padma Vibhushan this year. Along with him, Karnataka’s B. M. Hegde, Odissa’s Sudarshan Sahoo also received the honors. Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley were also given Padma Vibhushan award posthumously.

sushma swaraj arun jaitley padma shri

Ms. Krishnan Nair Shantakumari Chithra won Padma Bhushan. She has contributed to the music industry for over 4 decades. Meanwhile, Chandrashekhar Kambara also won Padma Bhushan for his contribution to Literature.

Ks Chithra padma shri

Pv Sindhu who has represented India worldwide also was awarded. Padma Shri was given to around 102 people. These people are from all over India from different fields. Among those awarded the Padma Shri was Air Marshal Dr. Padma Bandopadhyay, Kangana Ranaut, Karan Johar, and Ekta Kapoor. Adnan Sami who is a Pakistani-born naturalized Indian citizen now was also given the award.

The Change Makers

harekal hajjaba padma shri

Harekala Hajabba sold Oranges to run a living and he succeeded to build a school. He is from a village called Newpadapu where there was no school. Meanwhile, he spent his life savings for this noble cause to build a school for his village. Today due to his efforts and dedication his school has 175 students with classes up to the 10th standard. Also this year, transgender folk artist Manjamma Jogati was awarded Padma Shri. She was the first trans woman to be chairperson of the Karnataka Janapada Academy. She is also the recipient of the Kannada Rajyotsava Award.

Also read, T20 World Cup 2021: Semi-Finalists Confirmed

Drushti is a clueless Engineering student who spends more time with novels than on her laptop. Currently pursuing her final year of graduation, she loves to write, make conversation and is always ready to learn something new.