T20 World Cup 2021: Semi-Finalists Confirmed

T20 World Cup 2021

Several hearts were broken when New Zealand defeated Afghanistan in the ICC T20 World Cup match yesterday. Additionally, with the completion of this game, the semi-finalists of the 2021 World Cup were also finalised.

India’s hopes of reaching the semi-finals were shattered after New Zealand achieved a comfortable victory. Moreover, even Afghanistan is now out of the tournament. India, the winner of the 2007 T20 World Cup, is now out of the tournament. The four finalists of this World Cup are Pakistan, New Zealand, England, and Australia.

Semi-Finalists Run In The T20 World Cup 2021

Pakistan is the only unbeaten team in the tournament till now and is one of the favourites to win the trophy after an unbelievable run. Additionally, New Zealand has also bounced back amazingly after facing a defeat against the group leaders Pakistan.

In the other group, England has topped the table. Eoin Morgan, a member of the 2010 T20 winner English team, will like to add another trophy to his name as a captain after winning the 2019 50-overs World Cup. The team has been performing exceptionally for some time now and would like to continue that run. The English team has only lost one match against the Proteas in their T20 2021 World Cup campaign. On the other side, no one can undermine the Aussies, who are always one of the top teams. Additionally, they have also lost only a single match in the tournament, which was against England.

It was also a heart-break for South Africa, who was at the same points as Australia and England. However, because of a lower NRR in comparison to both these teams, South Africa missed a spot in the semis.

Dates for the Semi-Finals

Table-toppers England will face the Balck Caps in the first semi-final on 10th November.
Pakistan will play the second semi-final match against the Aussies on 11th November.

Both these matches will not be any less than a thriller, with some of the best of the game playing. While Pakistan and England have won the T20 World Cup 2009 and 2010, the Black Caps and Aussies still don’t have this in their trophy cabinet. Hence, it will be interesting to see which team takes the Cup home.

Also Read: KL Rahul’s Brilliant Fifty Against Scotland

A student by day and a writer by night, Diksha Arya holds interest in writing poems and reading articles on politics and policies
Exit mobile version